News Release

Published on Friday, March 14, 2008

The Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District will hold a public hearing and meeting at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 3, 2008, in Room 408 of the Western Administrative Center located at 111 North Seventh Street in La Crosse.

The purpose of the hearing/meeting is to review the applications submitted for consideration of openings for one Elected Official member and two Additional members to the Board of the Western Technical College District. The following persons have submitted applications and must be present at the meeting on April 3 to be interviewed to qualify for appointment to the Board: Lynn Chakoian, Viroqua, Wis., Vernon County; Terry Erickson, (Incumbent) La Crosse, Wis., La Crosse County; Roger Hanson, Viroqua, Wis., Vernon County; Guy O. Leavitt, Blair, Wis., Trempealeau County; Sarah (Sally) G. Lister (Incumbent), Black River Falls, Wis., Jackson County; James T. Shilling (Incumbent), Sparta, Wis., Monroe County.

No names other than the above will be accepted from the floor at the time of the Board Appointment Committee meeting.

Immediately following the public hearing, the Board Appointment Committee will approve a Plan of Representation that gives equal consideration to the general population distribution and the distribution of women and minorities within the District. The Plan will be the basis upon which the appointments to the District Board shall be determined.

The Board Appointment Committee, at this meeting, will appoint three of the above-named persons to three-year terms (July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2011) on the Board of the Western Technical College District.

To learn more about Western programs and services, please call 608.785.9200 or visit the Western Web site at