News Release

Published on Thursday, March 19, 2009

The Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District will hold a public hearing and meeting at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 9, in Room 408 of the Western Administrative Center, located at 111 North Seventh Street in La Crosse.

The purpose of the hearing/meeting is to review the applications submitted for consideration for the openings of one Employee member, one Employer member, and one School District Administrator member to the Board of the Western Technical College District. The following persons have submitted applications and must be present at the meeting on April 9 and be interviewed to qualify for appointment to the Board: David Laehn, Independence, Wis. (Trempealeau County); Joanne E. Sandvick (Incumbent), La Crosse, Wis. (La Crosse County); Bradford G. Saron, Cashton, Wis. (Monroe County); Thomas E. Smith (Incumbent), Onalaska, Wis. (La Crosse County); and Michael S. Stolpa, La Crosse, Wis. (La Crosse County).

No names other than the above will be accepted from the floor at the time of the Board Appointment Committee meeting.

Immediately following the public hearing, the Board Appointment Committee will approve a Plan of Representation that gives equal consideration to the general population distribution and the distribution of women and minorities within the District. The Plan will be the basis upon which the appointments to the District Board shall be determined.

The Board Appointment Committee, at this meeting, will appoint three of the above-named persons to fill the three open positions. Each of the appointments will be for a three-year term (July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2012) on the Board of the Western Technical College District.

To learn more about Western programs and services, please call 608.785.9200 or visit the Web site at