News Release

Published on Monday, November 16, 2009

Steve Doyle, Chairperson of the Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District, has announced a vacancy on the Western Technical College District Board. He will accept applications from district residents for consideration to fill the vacant position of the “Elected Official Member.” Application materials will be available beginning Friday, Nov. 27 and must be returned by 4:00 p.m., on Friday, Dec. 11.

The Board Appointment Committee will appoint one person to the Western District Board at a public hearing and meeting scheduled for Thursday, Jan. 14, 2010. The term of the appointment, in accordance with the Plan of Representation, will commence upon confirmation by the Wisconsin Technical College System Board and expire June 30, 2011. The Plan of Representation states that the District Board must be organized to represent employees, employers, and the general population at-large throughout the district; giving equal consideration to male, female, and minority representation.

The Western Technical College District encompasses 11 Counties in Wisconsin. Currently the District Board has three representatives from La Crosse County and one each from Monroe, Juneau, Vernon, Trempealeau, and Jackson Counties. The following chart shows the representation of population in Western’s District:

All District Board members must be residents of the Western Technical College District.

The Western District Board is responsible for the administration of vocational, technical, and adult education programs and services in the District as authorized by the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) Board according to state legislature. Appointments are subject to confirmation by the WTCS Board.

Applicants must submit at least two letters of reference supporting their nomination to the District Board, and they must attend a Public Hearing and meeting of the District Board Appointment Committee and be interviewed. Application materials are available at the office of Steve Doyle, Chairperson, Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District, beginning Nov. 27. For application materials, please call 608.785.9563.

Completed applications must be submitted to the Chairperson of the Board Appointment Committee no sooner than Friday, Nov. 27 and no later than 4:00 p.m. Friday, Dec. 11. Address all materials and inquiries concerning applications to:

Mr. Steve Doyle, Chairperson
Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District
La Crosse County Administrative Center, Room 3260
400 4th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601

The Western District Board currently holds its regular meetings during the afternoon of the third Tuesday of each month at the District offices in La Crosse. The District Board annually sets the regular meeting time and date at its July organizational meeting. Special Board meetings are held as needed at the district offices in La Crosse. District Board members serve without compensation, but receive reimbursement for necessary expenses incurred in performing official duties. District Board members are required to abide by the State of Wisconsin Code of Ethics and must file a financial disclosure statement with the State of Wisconsin Ethics Board.