News Release

Published on Friday, June 20, 2014

The Western Technical College District Board Appointment Committee, consisting of the 11 County Board Chairs in the Western Technical College District, recently re-appointed three members to Western’s District Board. The terms of the appointments begin July 1, 2014 and extend through June 30, 2017.

Sally Lister, of Black River Falls, was re-appointed as an additional member of the District Board. Lister is a Community Volunteer for Jackson County.

Joan Sosalla, of Independence, was also re-appointed as an additional member of the District Board. Sosalla is the Director for the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Educational Opportunities Network.

Ed Lukasek, of Sparta, was re-appointed as an elected official. Lukasek is a 6th Ward Alderman for the Sparta City Council.

Appointed District Board members serve on a voluntary basis and are not paid. The District Board must be organized to represent employees, employers, and the general public at large throughout the district; one member must be a public school administrator and one member an elected official. The Western District Board is responsible for the administration of vocational, technical, and adult educational programs and services in the district as authorized by the Wisconsin Technical College System Board according to state legislation.

To learn more about Western Technical College programs and services, call 608.785.9200 or visit the website at