Western Announces District Board Opportunities | Western Technical College


Western Announces District Board Opportunities

Coleman Center

LA CROSSE, Wis., March 1, 2017 — Tara Johnson, Chairperson of the Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District, has announced that she will accept applications of District residents for consideration for appointment to the Board of the Western Technical College District. Application materials will be available beginning Wednesday, March 8, 2017 and must be returned by 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 22, 2017.

The Board Appointment Committee, which is comprised of the County Board Chairpersons representing the 11 counties that Western encompasses, will appoint three persons to the Western District Board at a public hearing and meeting scheduled for Monday, April 10. Three appointments, for three-year terms commencing July 1, 2017, will be made in accordance with the Plan of Representation. The Plan of Representation states that the District Board must be organized to represent employees, employers, and the general population at-large throughout the district; giving equal consideration for male, female, and minority representation. 

The Western Technical College District encompasses 11 counties in Wisconsin. Currently, the District Board has three representatives from La Crosse County, two from Monroe County and one each from Jackson, Juneau, Trempealeau and Vernon Counties.

The District Board member categories with vacancies are one elected official member and two additional members, all of whom must be residents within the Western Technical College District.Table showing the representation of population in Western's district for 2015, by county

The Western District Board is responsible for the administration of vocational, technical, and adult education programs and services in the District as authorized by the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) Board and in accordance with state legislature. Appointments are subject to confirmation by the WTCS Board.

Applicants must submit at least two letters of reference supporting their nomination to the District Board, and they must attend a public hearing and meeting of the District Board Appointment Committee and be interviewed.

Application materials are available at the office of Tara Johnson, Chairperson, Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District beginning March 8, 2017. For application materials, please call 608-785-9563 or find them online at www.westerntc.edu/board-appointment-process

Completed applications must be submitted to the Chairperson of the Board Appointment Committee no sooner than Wednesday, March 8 and no later than 4:00 p.m. Wednesday, March 22. Address all materials and inquiries concerning applications to:

Ms. Tara Johnson, Chairperson
Board Appointment Committee of the Western Technical College District
La Crosse County Administrative Center
212 6th Street North
La Crosse, WI 54601

The Western District Board currently holds its regular meetings during the afternoon of the third Tuesday of each month at the District offices in La Crosse. The District Board annually sets the regular meeting times and dates at its July organizational meeting. Special Board meetings are held as needed at the District offices in La Crosse. District Board members serve without compensation, but receive reimbursement for necessary expenses incurred in performing official duties. District Board members are required to abide by the State of Wisconsin Code of Ethics and must file a financial disclosure statement with the Wisconsin Government Accountability Board.