News Release

Published on Monday, July 20, 2009

The Western Technical College Board Appointment Committee, consisting of the 11 County Board Chairs in the Western Technical College District, recently appointed one new member and reappointed two current members to Western’s District Board. The terms of the three appointments began July 1, 2009 and extend through June 30, 2012.

David Laehn, of Independence, Wis., was appointed to serve as a School District Administrator member on the District Board. Laehn currently fills the dual role as superintendent and principal for grades 9-12 for the Independence Public Schools, a position he has held since August 2001. He received his Masters of Education from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and has continued with post-master’s studies in Education Leadership at Winona State University.

Joanne Sandvick, of La Crosse, an incumbent candidate, was re-appointed to serve as an Employee Member on the District Board. Sandvick has served on the board since 2003. Sandvick is the project specialist for the La Crosse Medical Health Science Consortium.

Thomas Smith, of Onalaska, also an incumbent candidate, was re-appointed to serve as an Employer Member on the board. Smith joined the Western Technical College District Board in 2006. He is the vice president of Operational Support Services at UMR – a United Healthcare Company in Onalaska.

To learn more about Western Technical College programs and services, call 608.785.9200 or visit the Web site at