News Release

Published on Wednesday, September 02, 2009

Two Western Technical College Electronics Club students recently received scholarships from the International Society of Certified Electronics Technicians (ISCET) organization.

Evan Pekarek, of Richland Center, and Daniel Murray, of La Crosse, each received a $1,000 Student Chapter Scholarship. These students were chosen by the ISCET Scholarship Committee from applications received from student chapters across the country. Pekarek and Murray are both students in Western’s Electronic and Computer Engineering Technology (ECET) program.

Pekarek was also chosen as one of two “Technicians of Tomorrow” by the National Electronics Service Dealers Association (NESDA). He was awarded a package that included travel, lodging, meals, and attendance to the August 2009 National Professional Service Convention and Professional Service Trade Show, in St. Louis, Mo. Pekarek was able to attend technology training sessions, convention functions, and was introduced at several sessions to many of the more than 600 convention attendees.

Also at this convention, David Bates, instructor/program head of the ECET program, was presented the President’s Award by ISCET. This award is given to an individual for outstanding dedication and service to ISCET and the advancement of the Certified Electronics Technician (CET) training program. At this convention, Bates was appointed to the Board of Directors of the ISCET organization and presently holds the office of President for the National Coalition of Electronics Education (NCEE).

For information on additional Western Technical College programs and services, call 608.785.9200 or visit the Web site at