News Release

Published on Friday, July 01, 2011

The Western Technical College District Board Appointment Committee, consisting of the 11 County Board Chairs in the Western Technical College District, recently re-appointed three members to Western’s District Board. The terms of the appointments begin July 1, 2011 and extend through June 30, 2014.

Lynn Chakoian, of Viroqua, Wis., will serve as an Additional Member on the District Board. Chakoian has served on the board since 2oo8. She was elected to serve on the Vernon County Board of Supervisors April 2006 to April 2008, and served as the chair of the Vernon County Comprehensive Plan Commission from 2002-2006. Her work within Vernon County has focused on establishing non-profit capacity to address local areas of concern – environmental, education, and economic development. She currently serves on the boards of the Valley Stewardship Network, Waysmeet, Inc., and the McIntosh Memorial Library. She brings experience and education in soil conservation, land resources, and grant-writing to her position on the Western’s board.

Sarah G. (Sally) Lister, of Black River Falls, Wis., will serve as an Additional Member on the District Board. Lister has served on the board since 1996. She has also been appointed to serve as a member of Western’s Foundation Board and acts as liaison between the District Board and the Foundation Board. Lister has represented Western on the Wisconsin Technical College District Boards Association, and continues her work as a champion for technical education, as well as a leading spokesperson on many legislative issues facing the Wisconsin Technical College System.

Ed Lukasek, of Sparta, Wis., will serve as an Elected Official Member on the board. Lukasek joined the Western Technical College District Board in 2010. He is currently the 6th Ward Alderman for the Sparta City Council. His community involvement includes participation in park and recreation committees, church council, and as a member of the Monroe County Energy Conservation Committee. Lukasek comes to the District Board as a lifelong resident of Sparta/Monroe County, a veteran, and a strong advocate for educational opportunities.

Appointed District Board members serve on a voluntary basis and are not paid. The District Board must be organized to represent employees, employers, and the general public at large throughout the district; one member must be a public school administrator and one member an elected official. The Western District Board is responsible for the administration of vocational, technical, and adult educational programs and services in the district as authorized by the Wisconsin Technical College System Board according to state legislation.

To learn more about Western Technical College programs and services, call 608.785.9200 or visit the website at