News Release

Published on Monday, August 05, 2013

The Western Technical College District Board Appointment Committee, consisting of the 11 County Board Chairs in the Western Technical College District, recently appointed one new member and re-appointed two incumbent members to Western’s District Board. The terms of the appointments began July 1, 2013 and extend through June 30, 2016.

Angie Lawrence, of Viroqua, was appointed as a new member of the District Board. Lawrence is an active community member, serving on the Viroqua School Board and the Viroqua Area Foundation for many years, as well as volunteering for organizations such as Vernon Memorial Hospital, Bethel Butikk Food Pantry, and Viroqua Library Building Committee.

Dan Hanson, of La Crosse, was re-appointed and elected the board chair. Hanson has served on the board since 2004. He is an agent/representative from Western Wisconsin AFL-CIO Central Labor Council and a consultant for Robert and Eleanor Franke Charitable Foundation.

Dennis Treu, of Sparta, was also re-appointed to the board and elected to the treasurer position. Treu is the managing member/broker/owner of Century 21 Gold Award Homes.

Other board members elected to officer positions include Dave Laehn, of Bangor, as vice chair and Ed Lukasek, of Sparta, as secretary.

Appointed District Board members serve on a voluntary basis and are not paid. The District Board must be organized to represent employees, employers, and the general public at large throughout the district; one member must be a public school administrator and one member an elected official. The Western District Board is responsible for the administration of vocational, technical, and adult educational programs and services in the district as authorized by the Wisconsin Technical College System Board according to state legislation.

To learn more about Western Technical College programs and services, call 608.785.9200 or visit the website at