Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients | Western Technical College

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2023 – Paul Bagniefski

1994 HVAC Design Graduate

The Western Alumni Association is honored to recognize Paul Bagniefski as the 2023 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient.

Bagniefski is currently the President and CEO of Mid-City Steel. He is also a 1994 graduate of the HVAC Design program. Following a stint as an HVAC journeyman, Bagniefski completed his bachelor’s degree in accounting in 2006. From there, he served as Controller for Agropur before becoming President and CEO of Mid-City Steel in 2012. While there, he helped streamline processes and update critical infrastructure. He also continuously develops relationships with community clients and stakeholders.

Bagniefski is a strong advocate for Western Technical College. Under his leadership, Mid-City Steel has strengthened the partnership between the two institutions, offering clear career pipelines, and scholarships to Western students. He consistently voices his support for career and technical education and its impact on the local community.

Previous Recipients

If you would like more information about the past recipients please contact the Alumni Association at alumni@westerntc.edu or 608-789-6083.