State Authorization

National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements LogoWestern Technical College participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA), an agreement among member states, districts, and territories that establishes comparable national standards for interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs. Western became a member of SARA on September 23, 2016.

SARA is overseen by a national council and administered by four regional education compacts. Western is part of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact. Colleges in a SARA state only need their home state authorization to offer distance education to students in other SARA member states.  

Not every state has joined SARA. A current list of member states can be found here.  State authorization rules are subject to change. Please check back to this site for more information or updates on authorization of states for distance education courses.  

If you have a complaint about a distance education course or program offered at Western Technical College, or a specific question about Western Technical College’s State Authorization of Distance Education, please direct your inquiry to the Dean of Learning via email.